Are all dynos the same? >

Are all dynos the same?

Notices

Are all dynos the same?

Old 04-10-2006, 12:07 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are all dynos the same?

Just had my engines run on the dyno. I was wondering if all dynos would come back with the same results? Is it a function of the dyno or the person operating the dyno? How many hp or ft lbs of torque might it be off? I am new at comprehending the dyno and trying to understand if these are comparable numbers to what Mercury publishes for their engines? Thanks.
Old 04-10-2006, 09:06 AM
SORE MEMBER
Platinum Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: Are all dynos the same?

Originally Posted by Rebel_Heart
Just had my engines run on the dyno. I was wondering if all dynos would come back with the same results? Is it a function of the dyno or the person operating the dyno? How many hp or ft lbs of torque might it be off? I am new at comprehending the dyno and trying to understand if these are comparable numbers to what Mercury publishes for their engines? Thanks.

In a word, NO.

All dyno's are supposed to be referenced to an SAE standard in theory. In actuality a dyno test is only repeatable with the same dyno and operator if you want back to back comparisons.

Two of the better dyno shops here in Houston dynoed a small block motor on the same day in the morning for just this reason and came up with a 20hp difference at 400hp. Same brand of dyno also. They eventually were able to get them to read fairly close with some input from the manufacturer.

Edit: this comparison was done with uncorrected data

Last edited by Wobble; 04-11-2006 at 04:40 PM.
Old 04-10-2006, 09:22 AM
Registered