Stereo freaks needed........... >

Stereo freaks needed...........

Notices

Stereo freaks needed...........

Old 06-02-2006, 11:12 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stereo freaks needed...........

I am trying to figure out a way I could build a box under the rear bench seat in my 29' World Class. I have 2 12" Xplod in right now, but they are running free air. I want to build a box around them, but there is a raised soffit area (possibly fuel lines or fuel overflow) which takes up a lot of space behind one of the 12's. Any ideas of what I can do?
Old 06-02-2006, 11:40 AM
Registered

Default Re: Stereo freaks needed...........

Bolts, I am no expert, but I do know that if the box isn't the designed to the speaker, you can totally change the sound. It sounds like you are not getting the sound out of them that you want.

My first question would be do you have enough amp to drive them. If they are not getting enough power, they won't perform, actually sound tinny. For example, a 200 watt amp serving 6 speakers is only 50 watts per. If your speakers are rated for say 150, you aint getting it. You want to make sure that each speaker is getting at least 50% of it's load rating. Also, what guage wire are you running to them? Are you using regular speaker wire or shielded wire? Again, the signal may not get there.

And are you running the speakers in daisy chain from another speaker, or direct to the amp? If your running daisy chain, you probably not getting any sound from that also.

Last, what type of Reciever/Amp. I know Bose Amps like Bose Speakers, and usually only Bose speakers.

Good luck.
Old 06-02-2006, 11:50 AM
Registered

And becareful to insure that the power you are running to the speakers is withing 40-70% range of their Reccomended MAX RMS load (RMS is much different then MAX). You may want to consider a 2fa Cap with two 12" (Assuming your gonna run 150-250W RMS to each)
Old 06-02-2006, 12:30 PM
Registered