ATTN Service writers >

ATTN Service writers

Notices

ATTN Service writers

Old 07-07-2006, 10:52 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default ATTN Service writers

I have a couple questions for technicians turned service writers. My name is Andrew and for years i was turning wrenches doing basic mechanical work. I am now in more of a Service writer / service manager position and would like to knoe if there are any good courses out there that would help me learn this role a little better. My employer is great to work with and will pay for education but i would like to hear from some others in this feild. Was there any specific school or classes you took for this? I am looking at some night courses but most are automotive....just wondering whats out there.....Any input would be appreaciated.
Old 07-07-2006, 11:00 AM
gcoffshore.com
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: ATTN Service writers

ASE has a service writer test i took it was easy i am a service manager and a ase master tech not many courses out there to help you just seat time behind the desk thats my 2 cents
Ty
and good luck
Old 07-07-2006, 11:49 AM
Charter Member
Charter Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The car manufacturers have really good courses that deal with all aspects of warranty, cust service, etc. But you need to work for a dealer to enroll. If you are tight with a dealer you might be able to get in one.
Old 07-07-2006, 11:50 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

WOW - a tech guy who understands why service writting is important and looks to hone those skills.... congratulations, you are one of the few...

A service writte is basically a very technically qualifed sales person. As such, look to better sales programs, not the hookey pyramid scheme stuff, but the professional "how to determine what a customer really wants and give it to them" courses.

http://www.nightingale.com has some good stuff for self study.