Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Having some work done-$$ sound fair? >

Having some work done-$$ sound fair?

Notices

Having some work done-$$ sound fair?

Old 01-18-2007, 12:15 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Having some work done-$$ sound fair?

I've got a 93 carbed 502 in a 27 ft powerquest. To make a long story short, the motor leaned out and hung up a valve. The newly rebuilt shortblock is ok. One of the heads needs to be replaced(rect. port). I will also be upgrading to a hyd. roller set up with roller rockers, springs,pushrods, etc. Heads will have inconnel valves, no porting. A new holley carb and intake will reside on top. The log manifolds will be replaced with some type of ported sport tubes that they say they have had good luck with.( I'm assuming these are the newer stock bravo manifolds.) Installed and tuned with a one season warranty for $9500.
I'm new to boating. Most of my experience with motors comes from drag racing. I'm experiencing a little sticker shot. Does that number fall in line with what a good shop would charge?
Tom
Old 01-18-2007, 12:52 PM
Registered

Received 749 Likes on 402 Posts
Default Re: Having some work done-$$ sound fair?

That's a tad pricey. Shop around.
Old 01-18-2007, 02:39 PM
Registered

The shop charges $95/hr. For my area, that's not outrageous, but probably the high side of normal. When I add up those parts it seems like an awful lot left over for labor. Is there that much involved on the labor end to justify the number? I'd sure like to hear from some of the guys who have done similar work.
Tom
Old 01-18-2007, 03:06 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post