Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > General Q & A
Speedmaster #3's and #2's TRS's????? >

Speedmaster #3's and #2's TRS's?????

Notices

Speedmaster #3's and #2's TRS's?????

Old 01-27-2007, 11:57 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Speedmaster #3's and #2's TRS's?????

I am a newb around here but I am looking for a little help with some drive questions. I have been looking at boats since I am in the market for a new to me performance boat. I have been looking at older Cig's and some Fountians but it seams like around 1986 to 1991 you could ge everything from a TRS to a speedmaster 2 or 3 or up to a bravo 1. speaking in terms of years

So my question is this does the older Speedmaster #2 fit up to a TRS gimble housing or a heavy duty version of a TRS gimble housing? Basicly what I am trying to get at is can a speedmaster 2 swap onto TRS Transome Parts.

I also wonder what kind things will i get into swaping TRS for Speedmaster 3's

not alot of info on this that I can find sorry for the bad jumbled post its late and I can't sleep with this spinning in my head.
Old 01-28-2007, 07:46 AM
Registered

Default Re: Speedmaster #3's and #2's TRS's?????

Yes SSM II will bolt directly to the TRS gimbal. But this will result in the drive height being WAY wrong. And IIs are virtually non existant, as are parts for it. So forget about IIs.
I've done the change to IIIs. Very big job. Do a seach here for details.
TRS was discontinued years ago and parts could start to get scarce in the future. But unlike IIs, Merc made A LOT of TRSs, so they'll be around a while.
Gary
Old 01-28-2007, 12:43 PM
Registered

Ok Gary thanks for the input after seaching I can see that #2s are not an option and after countless ours I have read that the 2 won't handle the power I will be using. I am going to look into more of the #3s. Are parts still avalible for the 3's. Granted parts may not be an issue as long as they are not pounded on.
Old 01-28-2007, 01:54 PM
Registered