Notices

Holley Carb set up / tune

Old 01-10-2010, 08:19 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Holley Carb set up / tune

G'day all,

Here's a situation for you to ponder.
I am no expert on Holley or any other brand of carb for that matter. I can rebuild one, tune one and fix most things but whether or not I'm right is a different matter.

I am running a Gen VI BBC, 468ci 10.5:1 comp, RPM Air Gap intake, Vortec heads, Crower (for now...) 01404LM cam - 292/303 Dur, .585 / .612 Lift and a holley 850 HP D/P carb.

I get about 4-5 inches of manifold vacuum from the vac port on the carb base plate and I think my power valve is a 35 but I'm going to check tomorrow.

All that asside, I now live in Darwin, Australia, which is hot all the time and more humid than a hippo's armpit during mating season. It is however; at sea level.

Anyone with any good advice as to what jets I should be looking at and any thoughts on the merits of dropping to a 25 power valve?

The boat is a Stinger 222 and I've got a B1 24P, a P5 23P and a Mir+ 25P, so far I've only really tested the 5 Blade and it was slower to get up on a plane than I expected and topped out at (GPS) 62mph at ~4250 rpm.

Any advice or input would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers,
John
Old 01-10-2010, 08:26 AM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

4-5 inches at idle ?? if so you have a problem, should have twice that...fix that first...Rob
Old 01-10-2010, 05:00 PM
Registered

Received 1,491 Likes on 806 Posts