Moisture test >

Moisture test

Notices

Moisture test

Old 01-11-2010, 01:51 PM
Registered

Received 103 Likes on 75 Posts
Default Moisture test

Will a moisture meter work on a hull in below freezing temps? What about the hammer tap method? Are either of these accurate in below freezing temps? What percentages are acceptable on a moisture meter?
Old 01-11-2010, 02:40 PM
Registered

Received 21 Likes on 10 Posts

I'm no expert, but I don't think a standard meter will work accurately if the wood is frozen. I've never tried the hammer tap on a cold hull so I can't help you there. Anyway to get it inside overnight to let it thaw out before you stick the meter on it?

You looking at a project? I couldn't help but notice the other thread you started on the crate motor
Old 01-11-2010, 02:47 PM
Registered

RT are you good at the tap method?
Old 01-11-2010, 03:00 PM
Registered

Received 21 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by bigboat28
RT are you good at the tap method?
I've seen it done, but the only time I have really used it was on a transom that was pretty much rotten all the way through. There was a very very distinct hollow sound where the wood was gone. I don't have a whole lot of experience with the in between. I tend to believe if it was frozen solid it would sound solid like good wood, rotten or not. I guess it depends on how wet it was when the temps dropped, and if there is still a void between the layers to give a hollow sound.
Old 01-11-2010, 04:12 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

good friend of mine is a surveyor and no will not work in freezing temps, sounding not much better either...Rob
Old 01-12-2010, 04:19 PM
Registered

What are the acceptable readings on the meter?
Old 01-14-2010, 07:22 PM
Registered

Anyone know the acceptable readings on a moisture meter?
Old 01-14-2010, 07:36 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 368 Likes on 247 Posts

moisture is one thing, delamination is another.