loud rattling noise from engine compartment >

loud rattling noise from engine compartment

Notices

loud rattling noise from engine compartment

Old 05-16-2010, 11:24 AM
Registered

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default loud rattling noise from engine compartment

I have a baja 272 with a bravo one and a 454 My gimbal bearing has been vibrating pretty bad for a while now when I would turn only. Yesterday was a little choppy out so while heading back to the dock I was cruising at 40 when all of a sudden I heard a loud rattling noise out of nowhere and I immediately slowed down and had to idle all the way back to the dock. My question is I got a feeling the gimbal bearing finally gave out? How bad does it get and I'm wondering if i messed anythign else up in there? The enigne only has about 50hrs on it and the only problem has that the gimbal bearing has been vibrating only when i would turn but I just didn't have the time to replace it so I guess im assuming it finally couldnt take it anymore. When I take the outdrive off should the gimbal bearing basically be loose or come out with the outdrive? i guess I just don't know what to expect
Old 05-16-2010, 11:41 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You didnt have time to repair a problem that you knew existed ? You kept driving the boat knowing it was something major ? I dont mean to beat you with a lecture...but your lucky something major didnt happen while a good distance from land with your or somebody elses kids in the boat. Did you think it was gonna fix itself ? Find time to repair important problems. You had time to go out on it again...but not enough time to repair it ? I'm sorry to say this....BUT YOU DESERVE WHAT YOU GET SIR.

I hope it all works out for you.
Old 05-16-2010, 11:53 AM
Charter Member # 55
Charter Member

Received 1,821 Likes on 907 Posts

That sounds more like bad U joints than a gimbal bearing.
Old 05-16-2010, 11:57 AM
Registered