Trim Recommendation

Notices
Formula

Trim Recommendation

Old 06-16-2011, 06:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trim Recommendation

Ok... I'm a Newbie...

I have a 312 Fastech with 454 Mags. When I am cruising at 3,500 RPMs I am getting 40 MPH but I have to keep the drives trimmed almost all the way down or it starts hopping. I know I am losing speed but the ride is better.

At WOT I can trim it all the way up and it rides great.

Does this make sense or does anyone have any wisdom for me?

Thanks

Mike
Old 06-16-2011, 08:08 PM
Registered

Use your tabs to settle it down. Usually 3-4 on the indicators is a good starting point. Adjust from there. Just dont lay the tabs full down at cruise or you will bury the bow and bow steer which can be very dangerous.
Old 06-16-2011, 08:33 PM
Charter Member #232
Charter Member

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts

Go take the Tres Martins driving school you will learn a lot about why your boat is doing what it is doing.

Last edited by Audiofn; 06-18-2011 at 06:11 AM.
Old 06-17-2011, 07:26 AM

Relax. I am not inexperienced with boats, this is just my first go-fast. I understand how to handle the boat, I am just looking for advice on small adjustments from people who want to help.

Last edited by mdegeneffe; 06-17-2011 at 07:37 AM.
Old 06-17-2011, 07:39 AM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

My boat acts similar, just can't quite carry the bow at slower speeds. I usually trim out a touch until it almost starts to bounce, then drop in a little tab. It is just something you have to play with to find an acceptable compromise between speed and ride. Or in my case I just go faster lol.
Old 06-17-2011, 08:53 AM
Registered

Try your tabs level with the bottom of the boat or slightly down from level and it will settle down. If you don't know where level is, put someone in the boat while it's on the trailer and have them adjust while you watch from the ground until you find the setting.
Old 06-17-2011, 01:07 PM
Registered