Fuel injected 525SC >

Fuel injected 525SC

Notices

Fuel injected 525SC

Old 08-18-2011, 03:21 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel injected 525SC

I am considering building a fuel injection system for my 525SC. I am a novice on EFI systems in general, but have a basic understanding of them. The motivating factor is my boat uses twice the fuel and has half the HP of my friends EFI equipped boat.
-Will the Merc distributor work?
-Where would be the best place to inject fuel? (the area between the intercooler and head is only about 1 inch.
-I would only consider a MEFI controller. Should it be a 3 or 4?
Comments or first hand knowlege appreciated.
Old 08-18-2011, 03:28 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Fixx

Originally Posted by Old Navy
I am considering building a fuel injection system for my 525SC. I am a novice on EFI systems in general, but have a basic understanding of them. The motivating factor is my boat uses twice the fuel and has half the HP of my friends EFI equipped boat.
-Where would be the best place to inject fuel? (the area between the intercooler and head is only about 1 inch.
consider this instead..

http://www.professional-products.com/EFI_3.php
Old 08-18-2011, 03:52 PM
Registered

mefi 4A AT crateenginedepot for $600is w/ harness. Great buy! Mefiburn software and you can tune yourself.
Old 08-18-2011, 04:07 PM
Registered

I have a MEFI 4A complete that I will be installing on my car. I plan to buy the MEFIBURN software thats why I am stuck on the MEFI. That Professional Products set up looks great though..
Old 08-18-2011, 05:09 PM
Charter Member # 55
Charter Member

Received 1,821 Likes on 907 Posts

525SC's are thirsty and I doubt that making them EFI will help more than about 10%-15% in fuel economy.

They are set up rich and if you tune it with an O2 sensor and lean out the jetting, it will help some also.
Old 08-18-2011, 06:04 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 814 Likes on 373 Posts