Not sucking up water, at all >

Not sucking up water, at all

Notices

Not sucking up water, at all

Old 08-28-2011, 05:42 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Not sucking up water, at all

I need some help here. I have twin 502 EFI's and wanted to go out today.
I left the marina at idle speed, idled out about 300 yards and all of sudden the water temp alarm went off on both motors at the same time. I shut them both down, lifted the engine hatch to let things cool and jumped in the water to check the outdrives and see if any of the pickup holes were covered and couldn't find anything. I eventually limped it back into the marina and had it put on the rack and hooked the muffs up to the motors. when I started the motor no water came out of the exhaust at all. Nothing. I was out yesterday and it ran fine.
I could see something going on with one engine but both at the same exact time.
I would appreciate any ideas. I'm no mechanic and I just bought this boat, used but from a dealer.
1998 Formula 312 FasTech.
Old 08-28-2011, 05:56 PM
Registered

Its most likely the rubber impeller in the raw water pump,thats the place to start .if it has broken up you must back flush to get any broken bits out . also check pump housing for scoring . hope this helps
Old 08-28-2011, 06:28 PM
Charter Member #927
Charter Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You just bought it? Did you run it on a hose at the dealership? I wonder if a shut off was installed in the line to run it on a hose and not use muffs?
Old 08-28-2011, 06:46 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by Payton
You just bought it? Did you run it on a hose at the dealership? I wonder if a shut off was installed in the line to run it on a hose and not use muffs?
I wish it was that but we ran it at the shop on muffs. I actually took their muffs since I didn't have any.
Old 08-28-2011, 07:03 PM
Registered