Notices

Painted Aluminum Trailer?

Old 03-25-2013, 01:00 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Painted Aluminum Trailer?

I have a Load Master I-Beam Trailer and. while i know they are good, and last if dipping in salt, or whatever.

They are ugly in comparison to a painted to match steal one.

SO what do you guys think about taking one, and doing a acid base primer, sealer, base coat, and a clear coat on it? Making it match the boat? ever seen a painted aluminum one?

This is my boat. I am thinking yellow trailer, with a black pin strip, and some different wheels. BUT I am not sure how hard it will be to find a matching yellow? so may have to do black?

thoughts?

Last edited by mittens; 03-25-2013 at 01:19 PM.
Old 03-25-2013, 01:09 PM
Forum Regulator
VIP Member

Received 1,195 Likes on 519 Posts

Manning and Myco both offer this on their aluminum trailers. They look fantastic.
Old 03-25-2013, 01:45 PM
bwd
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Here is something I considered for my trailer before I wound up selling it. I went to a local Galvanizer and Industrial coatings place. In my case it was Duncan Galv. just outside Boston. I was told they could take the frame rails( after taken apart that is) acid bath the parts, prep and coat with a bad ass industrial coating ( which only these big companies can get) in a few different colors. They charge by weight when you bring in the parts. 6 yrs ago 5-700$ rings a bell. I'd be willing to bet If I tried to do it in my yard, after doing a crappy prep job I would pay 350-400 on paint supplies anyways. Just my thoughts.
Old 03-25-2013, 01:58 PM
Registered

Received 86 Likes on 21 Posts