Blower Motor Set up and Tune 257 Mirage

Notices

Blower Motor Set up and Tune 257 Mirage

Old 10-13-2013, 12:30 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Blower Motor Set up and Tune 257 Mirage

Hi everyone ,

Im new to this forum and am looking for help. I actualy own a Hot Rod shop in California www.westcoastautocraft.com and have really good knowledge of engine building and tuning. I have zero experience with blown engines or boats.

I purchased a Mirage 257 trovare with a blown 502. First time out blew head gasket. I had a shop go back through it and now im just getting it going. The shop who has been working on it has done a great job and supplied me with a ton of goodies. Now i just need to make it all work and im a little lost.

What i know about the set up.

502 shortblock with a pretty big hydralic roller blower cam (dont know the specs)
Flat top forged pistons
Everything from here down is brand new.
Dart Pro 1 heads 3 with Dielectric Coating
B&M megablower all rebuilt at The Blowershop with thier front snout and drive. 20% overdriven (should be 6-8lbs boost)
Intercooler with sand strainer
Hardin Marine max volt distributor
Daytona CD-1 Marine unit and coil (running the mercury marine HP800SC program)
Hardin Marine "Hurricane exhaust system"
Quickfuel Marine Carburetors
Holly blue pump regulated to 7lbs pressure
Bravo XR drive
Signature 4 blade 28 pitch prop

So i want to start by saying that i have no issue with any of the mechanics work. He was not quite finished when i went and picked it up. Its been there a long time and i just offered to finish it myself. The day i got there he had just got it running for the first time and it needs tuning. When he started it it was backfiring through exhaust pretty bad. Then he realized that the box was advancing as well as the distributor. Because i was pressing him to let me take it he safety wired the advance in place which stopped the backfiring.