(Carry On) A/C Options

Notices

(Carry On) A/C Options

Old 08-18-2015, 03:06 PM
Registered

Received 76 Likes on 54 Posts
Default (Carry On) A/C Options

School the newbie!

I've done searching here and found through hatch as well as (Mermaid) self contained aftermarket units. Is anyone with shore power or the like carrying on a unit as exampled in the picture below?

http://www.amazon.com/Frigidaire-FRA...ioner+6000+btu

It seems the exhaust hose can merely be wedged between the cabin door and extra space taken up via any number of creative means.

Thanks!
Old 08-18-2015, 03:34 PM
Registered

Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts

I have been using a carry on unit similar to this for the past 6 years. I made sure that I got a style that had the exhaust hose only with no intake hose. I have a standard Bomar hatch on my boat and made a plexiglass insert that the hose mounts to. I then run the condensate from the AC unit into a condensation pump and it drains into the sink.
Old 08-19-2015, 04:15 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You can go even more low tech if you want. Buy a used 5000 btu window unit, set it on the cockpit floor at the cabin door so the exhaust is blowing into the cockpit and hang a towel over the opening so only the cold air is blowing in and it will freeze you out, even in the TX heat.

Not as much privacy since the cabin door is open, but it works.

Your cockpit carpet will get wet, so plan accordingly.
Old 08-20-2015, 07:28 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by SC288
I have been using a carry on unit similar to this for the past 6 years. I made sure that I got a style that had the exhaust hose only with no intake hose. I have a standard Bomar hatch on my boat and made a plexiglass insert that the hose mounts to. I then run the condensate from the AC unit into a condensation pump and it drains into the sink.
Thanks for sharing your experience!

Originally Posted by anewway