Impacts of hitting rev limiter? >

Impacts of hitting rev limiter?

Notices

Impacts of hitting rev limiter?

Old 01-03-2016, 02:19 PM
Registered

Received 119 Likes on 81 Posts
Default Impacts of hitting rev limiter?

Caught an episode of Australian offshore powerboat racing over the holidays and it got me wondering. What are the problems that continually banging the rev limiter can produce? The Australian boats had sealed 525EFI's and we're all over the limiter the whole race. I know the 525's have the ECM555, and it cuts fuel vs spark. Also, it seems the 525's are tuned very conseveratively. My previous MSD setups on my carb motors cut spark vs fuel. I would think this is the safer approach. What are everyone's opinions?
Old 01-03-2016, 04:34 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am no expert but I can tell you what my engine builder told me. Say your rev limiter is set to cut fuel at 6000 rpm. When your prop leaves the water and your engine climbs to 6000rpm the fuel is cut of course, but that does not stop your rpms from climbing. The engine can freewheel well past 6000 rpms before lack of fuel flow effects it. Same goes for cutting spark. Since your prop is out of the water when you hit the rev limiter there is very little load to stop the rpms from climbing the instant spark is cut. I cannot remember now how many hundred rpm he told me that he typically saw past the limiter.

I am hoping some of the experts will chime in here with more info

Last edited by hadleycat; 01-03-2016 at 04:38 PM.
Old 01-03-2016, 05:08 PM
Registered

Received 87 Likes on 49 Posts

im not sure if merc cuts the fuel but i believe they do cut spark.msd box starts dropping cylinders 250 rpm before the set rpm limit and the engine will not go over set rpm limit.
Old 01-03-2016, 06:10 PM
BUP
Banned

Received 41 Likes on 35 Posts

for OEM stock marine engines - either way continuously bumping off the rev limiter is not good.