PPI before purchasing engines? >

PPI before purchasing engines?

Notices

PPI before purchasing engines?

Old 02-18-2017, 08:15 PM
Registered

Received 29 Likes on 15 Posts
Default PPI before purchasing engines?

Im tentatively planning to purchase a pair of engines from another member on OSO in order to repower my boat. The engines are about 500 miles away near Salem Massachusetts, have been rebuilt and are sitting on pallets in the member's garage. This is my first time buying motors like this, and I'm no engines expert. Would it be reasonable and helpful to arrange some kind of pre-purchase inspection by a nearby engine shop in order to check if there are no obvious pitfalls with the motors? If so what should i specifically ask them to check and any ballpark on costs to do it? Finally, if anyone knows a reliable motors guy near Salem, suggestions are welcome. Thanks folks.
Old 02-18-2017, 08:34 PM
Registered

Received 87 Likes on 49 Posts

who is the member?most of the guys around here are honest and can be trusted.
Old 02-18-2017, 08:43 PM
bck
Charter Member#568
Charter Member

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

Assuming you're talking about relatively expensive performance engines that are advertised as being in great shape / low hours, I'd want them run on a dyno. If they perform as advertised and don't blow up you ( the buyer) pay for the dyno and get some valuable information and piece of mind for your money. If anything goes wrong with them on the dyno then the seller pays and picks up the pieces while you head home.
Old 02-18-2017, 09:02 PM
Registered

Member Genob here on Oso. I have no reason to distrust him, just want to consider if there are some general guidelines i should follow in order to avoid regrets. Motors apparently have zero hours on rebuilds by Thunderboat Bob. BCK If i can get the dyno sheets from when Bob rebuilt would you generally just go with those or would you still like to see them run independently?
Old 02-18-2017, 09:26 PM
bck