Trouble starting 496 Mag >

Trouble starting 496 Mag

Notices

Trouble starting 496 Mag

Old 04-10-2003, 02:05 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trouble starting 496 Mag

Hello all. Newbie here, with a few questions.

I just purchased a new to me, 01 Baja 272 w/40 hrs on a 496mag. I took the boat out for the first time today, and ran into trouble. The boat fired up on first try, and ran smooth at idle for about 10 min. When I backed away from the docks, it began to stutter/miss as if it were running out of fuel. I assumed my fuel gauge was faulty (reading 1/4-3/8 tank) and refueled the boat. Once back at the lake, the engine still would not start, and I nearly drained my battery trying.

Is there something I'm missing? Perhaps a fuel shut off valve? Air in my fuel system? Or something else all together?

What is the standard manufacturers warranty for Baja/Mercruiser? Is my boat covered?

I appreciate any input/adivce you all may have to offer.

Joe
Old 04-10-2003, 06:44 AM
Registered

Since you just purchased the boat, did you buy it from an individual or dealer? Dealer-warranty? Individual-call and ask about previous issues? Wish I could help further. Stick around and you'll get some good advice here on this board.

Welcome aboard and check out the Baja section!
Old 04-10-2003, 08:12 AM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

The Merc standard warranty is 1 year, but can be extended to 5 years(more $$). If you bought it private, did you receive any extended warranty paperwork? Otherwise, it's probably out of the warranty period.

Anyway, have you replaced the fuel filter. Maybe some bad gas in there or a gummed up filter. Can you hear the fuel pump running when you turn the key from 'off' to 'run'(not start, just run)? Could be a bad pump.
Old 04-10-2003, 11:45 AM
Registered

Thanks for the quick replies.