Question about reversion and superchargers >

Question about reversion and superchargers

Notices

Question about reversion and superchargers

Old 09-13-2003, 06:07 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about reversion and superchargers

Ok, after reading a bit about reversion on pb's thread, you've got me wondering about whether having a supercharger changes the chance of reversion. Does running a blower decrease the chance of reversion? I realize this is probably not an going to be easy to answer, but as I'm a newbie at supercharged engines I need all the help I can get.
Old 09-13-2003, 08:02 AM
Registered

My guess it NO. This is a problem that only happens at idle or just off idle. If the motor has a blower or NA the motor is in vacuum when at idle. Camshaft design & exhaust type are the only items to worry about.
Old 09-13-2003, 09:32 AM
Dennis Moore

Indirectly, yes. A correctly cammed supercharged engine will have a camshaft with less overlap so the supercharger doesn't blow the air/fuel mixture straight through the cylinder and out of the exhaust when both valves are open at the same time (valve overlap). Most supercharger camshafts have either a wide LSA or less exhaust duration (some have less exhaust duration than intake duration).

The stock GM marine camshafts used in the 454/502 Mercruiser Magnum engines make fine supercharger camshafts. They have a wide LSA at 115.5 degrees and 224/224 degrees of intake/exhaust duration. Very little valve overlap!

Dennis Moore
www.mooreperformance.org

Old 09-13-2003, 01:51 PM
Registered