Should I buy it? Baja 252

Notices

Should I buy it? Baja 252

Old 01-07-2012, 10:51 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Should I buy it? Baja 252

Hello all!

newbie here to OSO and my first post. I love the site and all the imformation that is packed into it!. I recently came across a beautiful Baja 252 that I absolutely love! I am willing and ready to buy the boat but unfortunately when I went to look at the boat it does not have trim tabs/k planes or a depth finder it was obviously ordered without those two options.

This will be my very first boat I have owned but have been boating since I was young with family and friends. So my question is... can these two items be installed on the boat with ease? and should it alter my decision in purchasing the boat?

Can anyone reccomend a reputable shop in the southeast michigan area to install them? I want it done right and it makes my skin curl knowing holes will be drilled in the boat to install, hence why I want it done properly.

Lastly it has Merc 7.4mpi 310hp how many quarts of oil does this engine take? doesnt have a owners manual with the boat.

Your suggestions and help will greatly be appreciated!

Thank's
Ryan...
Old 01-07-2012, 03:03 PM
Registered

Received 21 Likes on 11 Posts
Default 252

I just sold my 252 back in August and I loved it...mine did have the tabs and depth gauge and I have to say in my case the tabs were a must. Mine was supercharged and i needed to tabs to level out from from the prop torque, and as i learned how to use them they were nice in adjusting the ride according to the water conditions. I would think any good shop could handle the depth gauge but i woould make sure someone with experience installed the tabs. You may also want to factor in the cost of the tabs, i just had the factory "Boat Levelor" tabs but depending on what you want it can get inot bigger $$
Old 01-07-2012, 03:14 PM
Registered