looking to purchase >

looking to purchase

Notices

looking to purchase

Old 09-03-2012, 09:36 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default looking to purchase

Hey guys. I'm a newbie to the site and am excited to be here. I've been astonished by boats my whole life but have never personally owned one. I've got friends with boats, mostly ski boats but a couple with bajas and fountains. Im in to drag racing, i have a 1200hp diesel and since I took a Baja for a spin I knew I had to get one. I've been looking at a '97 272 for a while,I think its a 97, looks a little older to me but that's what the guy said. It has a new 502 roller motor in it and runs about 72mph and a new bravo 1 drive and cable steering. The interior is basically shot, needs to be redone bad as well as the gel coat, its chalky. Its been sitting outside uncovered for about 8 months now. The cabin as well is nasty. My questions to you guys are how exactly can I tell what year it is, what would you recommend doing to the boat to make it reliable, and can it be taken in salt water. We have a place on the coast in NC. I also live near a few nice lakes. I'm looking for something my family can enjoy, I'm married with a 5 month old. And I love speed, I don't need a 100mph boat but I also don't want to putt around at 40 like my buddies in the ski boats. Thanks for any input and look forward to hearing from you guys.

Scotty
Old 09-03-2012, 10:18 PM
Registered

First thing to do is get a survey done. Boat does not sound like it has been taken care of very well. Any links to the boat?
Old 09-04-2012, 06:47 AM
Registered

How do I go about getting a survey done? There isn't a link to the boat, a friend of mine was keeping it in his shop for a guy thats in his boat club during hurricane Issac. While the guy was running the boat weekly he took great care of it, I saw pictures of it from alst summer and it looked great, but now it gone down hill bad. I'll try to get some pictures sent to me to post up.