Baja force steering problems >

Baja force steering problems

Notices

Baja force steering problems

Old 07-12-2015, 09:45 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Baja force steering problems

I have a 1988 baja force 265 with a 454 and a bravo 1. The motor was rebuilt last year and ever since then it has been really hard to turn to the left. I don't know if something happened in that process or if maybe some water got in the tube just needed lubrication .Well yesterday it totally seized up on me and wouldn't turn either direction, unfortunately I tried to muscle through it and some kind of bracket broke off the steering wheel and now the wheel turns freely but doesn't turn the drive. So now I have 2 problems instead of 1. Really looking for any input here on how to fix and if it's something I should be able to do myself or have to get a mechanic to do. Also what cost I may be looking at. I have no experience with mechanical steering and cables so that's why I need any input available and appreciate all advice.
Old 07-13-2015, 11:50 AM
Registered

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Start from the back. Unhook the cable from the tiller arm on the outdrive. See if the outdrive moves back and forth freely from the outside of the boat. If so, then probably not your transom assembly. Then unhook cable at the helm, see how hard it is to move. Process of elimination. The cable and helm are not too hard to replace. Like I said in your other post, I have replaced all three in baja's. Transom assembly needs the removal of the motor.
Old 07-13-2015, 03:41 PM
Registered

Do you know what kind of steering controls are at the helm in my boat because I know something broke there for sure. Is it the morse 300252? I was just looking at controls and the bottom of it looks like what broke off. I can't look at it on my boat right now because it's at the shed at the lake. Thanks, just not sure what kind of steering it has at the helm or if anyone knew but I know the cable is morse