Tres Martin course Epilog >

Tres Martin course Epilog

Notices

Tres Martin course Epilog

Old 05-10-2010, 03:08 PM
Registered

Received 324 Likes on 126 Posts
Default Tres Martin course Epilog

Recently, I participated in the Tres Martin Performance boat school/class here at LOTO. I have had numerous people ask me did I really learn anything, and was it worth the money and time? Let me break down the questions individually but first some background;

I have been boating for 20+ years, I have had numerous boats, including: jet boats, ski boat’s and numerous “off shore” hulls, I even once owned a small racing Hydro, but that is when I truly found out why certain people race, others watch and enjoy! As a family, our current emphasis is on pleasure boating and Poker Runs. In the last few years we have been participating more and more in the Poker Runs, which is a tremendous amount of fun, but even though they are not a race, the adrenaline has been known to take over. For this reason (and others) I wanted to “fine tune” my driving abilities, for both my own piece of mind and that of my crew.

About the course: It is broke down into 2 days, first day is classroom, second day is driving, one on one with the instructor.

The class room portion I found to be a little overwhelming at first, it has been MANY years since I took any real math/physics/engineering classes, so when he (Tres) began explaining about why different angles and speeds do specific things to the bottom of the boat, well… Just let me say, it took a bit for me to fully understand. But as we got further into the day, it started making more and more sense, and the attitude of no one being left behind was adhered to, so by the end of the day, I was feeling very comfortable about the how’s and why’s. The way he taught it was both by showing drawings, then videos of actual race footage explaining what the driver’s did wrong to cause a problem or how to fix it.