Top Guns w/3A's?? >

Top Guns w/3A's??

Notices

Top Guns w/3A's??

Old 10-06-2006, 04:19 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Top Guns w/3A's??

I am thinking I would like an older Gun. I love the straight hull big power tigers, but they are still too expensive. I have seen some early 90's guns with reasonable power and 3A's. Is this a good combo? I don't know anything about the 3A's, powerhandling, prop selection, and pros and cons. Thanks for the help.

Corey
Old 10-06-2006, 04:41 PM
Registered

Received 3,020 Likes on 987 Posts
Default Re: Top Guns w/3A's??

Our 95 gun is a 3A boat linked to 525 SC's. Runs mid 70's.

The 3A's are the same prop shaft size as the #6's (large prop shafts). The SSM3's were smaller shafts. The 3a's are BEEFY with twin verticle shafts instead of one like a bravo. I'm not a pro at all the info on speedmaster drives but from what I can tell the 3A's were the race drives of their time until the SSMVI. 3A's are awesome drives! However, if you do manage to break one, which I'm told is almost as hard to do as breaking a #6, the repair costs are as much as a #6. This means very expensive. For example. The prop shafts are 3k each to replace!

They stopped making the 3's a while ago but the 3A's were just stopped being produced last year. As a matter of fact they were still listed on Mercs site as a new buyable drive last I looked. There will be parts around for them for many years to come.

The straight top guns were built to be rigged with transmissions. They ride better with them. Not knocking anyones boat but I would personally have a hard time running a Bravo'd straight bottom Gun. The Gun's are just too heavy for that drive. Aslo you'll find a lot of early 90's guns W/TRS's. TRS resale is a biotch. Great drive for it's time but they have not made them in a LOOOOOONG time. Last new TRS'd gun was in 91/92 I believe.

Here's some pics of our boat. With of course the obligatory air shot!!