Impeller/dry start questions >

Impeller/dry start questions

Notices

Impeller/dry start questions

Old 08-29-2007, 04:47 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Impeller/dry start questions

Hi, my name is Chad, and I'm new to the offshore boats. I just bought a 1978 Scarab 300. My previous boat was a 1977 Caribbean 26' daycruiser. I am selling the Caribbean, and had a guy come over to look at it. He asked me to fire it up, so I did. He then freaked out because I started it dry, and was convinced the 3 seconds it ran destroyed the impeller. I've never heard of this. I've dry started that boat hundreds of times, usually only for a few seconds, and never had a problem. Is what he is saying correct, and I indeed have damaged the impeller, or is he full of crap? The guy was so upset by it, he got in his car, and drove off. Also, am I correct in assuming the impeller is cheap, and an easy replacement, as I have heard of people replacing them every season for good measure. Any help is appreciated. I am looking through this site all day, to get all the info I can. I really enjoyed the picture thread of the old school offshore. The new stuff does nothing for me.
Old 08-29-2007, 05:23 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Well Chad, You can crank it to fire and immediately shut it off. I do it on occasion but it really isn't good practice. For someone who doesn't work on boats to witness that was left with the impression you didn't know what your doing, I may have thought the same thing too. It is good practice to change the impeller every season, much is at stake. Seems to me the real lesson here is to show the buyers how good of care you took of it, take the time to get the hose to demonstrate how well it runs next time.
Jim
Old 08-29-2007, 05:52 PM
Registered