Notices

Need to pull motors.

Old 06-01-2012, 01:22 AM
Registered
Gold Member
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need to pull motors.

I've been getting water in the bilge, and finally determined that the transom mounts were loose and letting water in. I was able to tighten the top nuts but no way to get to the lowers without pulling motors.

I'm thinking that I need to pull the motors and re-seal the mounts to do it right.

Any helpful hints before I get into this? I have never had the motors out so this is my first time. Doesn't look that tough but I've been around long enough to know how these go.

What are the torque specs for the transom mount? Do I need to re-align the drives when I put it back together even though nothing will/should change. Anything else that I need to think about and do?

1999 Baja 29' Outlaw, twin big blocks.

Thanks for any help.
Old 06-01-2012, 06:29 AM
Registered

Location: Omaha, Nebraska. Boat on the Mighty Mo! Longest river in the USA!
Received 37 Likes on 23 Posts

Are you asking about the inner and outer transom plates?
If you are, yes you need to reseal and align the drives.

Before I went to all that work I would make sure you know where the leak is coming from. Could be something as simple as a shifter cable, drive bellows..

Good luck
Old 06-01-2012, 06:46 AM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

you can also get to most of the bolts. try tightening all of them a little that you can reach. do it in the water but AT THE RAMP! if you break one and it starts pouring in...it can also be at the y-pipe mount. a friend dropped a socket down his y-pipe. it rotted a hole in pipe where socket sat against the aluminum. so there are lots of possibilities. i got my nova the first time i owned it because orig block-offs rotted through and sank it at the dock.
Old 06-01-2012, 09:57 AM
Registered
Gold Member
Platinum Member

Originally Posted by 1BIGJIM
Are you asking about the inner and outer transom plates?