Question for the Twin Engine Guys >

Question for the Twin Engine Guys

Notices

Question for the Twin Engine Guys

Old 04-23-2013, 12:03 PM
Registered

Received 42 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Question for the Twin Engine Guys

I own a single engine (496 Mag) and It's a pain in the ars to change the sea water impeller and spark plugs (engine sits low in the box). I've been considering moving up to twins for a few years but when I look at the engine compartment, I have to ask: How the heck do you change the plugs on the inner side of each engine? And how do you get to the water pump on the port engine? Seems like in non-staggared set-ups, the engines are so close that you couldn't get between them to work on them?? Every summer I feel I'm ready to move up. Until I do my routine maintenance and have to turn into a contortionist! Seems like it would be even worse with twins!
Old 04-23-2013, 12:29 PM
Registered

Received 80 Likes on 56 Posts

it is worse - much worse!

Lots of scrapes and scratches to hands, wrists, forearms, and biceps.
Old 04-23-2013, 12:43 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yep its a *****. Plugs where not that bad. did btoh mototrs in about an hour.

have not done sea water pumps yet, but its my big fear.
Old 04-23-2013, 12:51 PM
Registered

I did my pump impeller last year and after many explatives, thrown tools and bloody hands & arms later, it was done. Took the better part of the day to remove everything in the way and then reinstall. This Spring, the pump is not circulating water so gotta tear it out again. Paying someone this time!!! I just can't imagine doing all this on 2 engines!! I need deeper pockets!
Old 04-23-2013, 01:37 PM
Registered