Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > Do It Yourself, Boating on a Budget
88 454 mag to a 489/496 stroker? >

88 454 mag to a 489/496 stroker?

Notices

88 454 mag to a 489/496 stroker?

Old 08-28-2014, 04:00 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 88 454 mag to a 489/496 stroker?

Hey guys this is my first post on this forum. I'm kinda new to performance boating and I'm asking for some help/ info. Just bought a 88 baja sport 226 a few months ago. Just last weekend water got in the head thru the exhaust and bent a valve. 1 cylinder is shot and I was told since it's a mag they can't get pistons for it any more. One of my friends builds performance car motors and stuff and I was going to have him look at it. My question is I'm thinking of trying to bore it and stroking it to a 496. I have read in other places it's better to just do a 489 so you have the other .030 incase you ever for some reason have to bore it again. What do you guys think? Don't need crazy hp because I don't have the money and don't feel like rehabbing the out drive. Also I was told for the rotating assembly you can just used car stuff but for cams it's different. Anyone know of what cam and stuff I should get? Still want to be able to run pump gas. Thanks guys
Old 08-28-2014, 05:02 PM
SB
Registered

Received 3,115 Likes on 1,402 Posts

So, what was it that broke or is not working correctly that let the water in ?

IMHO - don't get the cheap cast steel stroker crank kit. I'm not up to debate it (been too many times) but willing to say my opnion.

That said, if you read thru this forum you'll see that exhaust systems have everything to do with what performance levels you seek.

Lastly, if your friend has not done any performance boat motors, ever, either don't build one or kindly turn him down and use a known one. Be careful with that too...lol.