School me on TRS. NEED HELP !!! >

School me on TRS. NEED HELP !!!

Notices

School me on TRS. NEED HELP !!!

Old 12-27-2015, 07:49 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default School me on TRS. NEED HELP !!!

I am New to this set up and know very little about it. I bought a 34 Scarab project without engines or transmissions. The gimbals and drives are present. The boat use to have twin 454 and thats what I wanna put back in. Both of my drives are RH drives. Now here is where I get lost: How do I get props spinning different direction ? If the drives spin the same way as well es the engines ? Is it in the transmissions ??? What transmissions do I need to be looking for ? boat had Velvet drive 1:1s but there seems to be more information needed in order for me to set this boat up the right way.

Thanks in advance.
Old 12-27-2015, 08:21 AM
Registered

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

the position of the driven gear in the lower gearcase(in front of or behind the pinion) is what differentiates a right hand from a left hand turning tr drive
Old 12-27-2015, 08:31 AM
Registered

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

You will also need either Borg Warner or merc style transmissions for the setup. I don't want to turn this into a sales pitch but I am converting my 30' scarab to Kaama surface drives so I have a pair of TRS drives, transmissions, props, etc. that I am looking to get rid of. I am going to let the stuff go for dirt cheap just so I am not tripping over it in my garage. Let me know if you are interested!

Post some pics of the boat and welcome to the club!!
Old 12-27-2015, 09:18 AM
Registered

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Blower ,if I were you I would be contacting 502ss and try to get his stuff .That will keep you from having to dig around for various pieces and hardware and save you time and $
Old 12-27-2015, 09:41 AM
Registered

Received 71 Likes on 39 Posts