Notices

Newbie looking for advice

Old 04-16-2016, 06:52 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie looking for advice

OK all hello first I have solid 81 Nova II 260 27 ft I acquired for what I think is decent price..$500 for boat minus engines and final drives on two axle trailer..question is how do I build this to haul ass..I have limited funds but am not afraid to go the distance on it over time..I realise you never get out what u put into it..but was thinking two bBC or sbc ( as suggested) hooked to alpha drives ( what is left of the former drives are transom plates and upper parts) also she needs new trim set up ..will post pictures of my project soon ..can I get this combination above 65mph or faster??does any body tube behind these boats at 20 mph and under?? How do they handle..may seem silly but as said I am new to this..
Old 04-16-2016, 08:41 PM
Registered

Received 110 Likes on 82 Posts

For that size boat I would consider a BB only and Bravo drives. Two stroker 496's with carbs and a good exhaust system should work. Lots of combinations. That's likely the most cost effective (dare I even use those words for boats). I wouldn't over prop and would use either a Bravo 4 blade or perhaps a Rev 4.
Old 04-16-2016, 09:01 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

27 foot and Tube under twenty hmmm ... Idont think so .. Add some big k planes to the list . And a bravo three duo prop
Old 04-16-2016, 09:11 PM
Registered

Next question would be can I convert alpha drives to bravo drives if so which ones..I have two mid 80's BBC out one ton Cherie's will these work? What does converting from alphas to bravos some say it can't be done.is there anyway to beef the alphas up to handle the HP?. Thks
Old 04-16-2016, 09:45 PM
Registered

Received 690 Likes on 276 Posts

1. a pair of 454 mags should do 65

2. No you can not just take the motor out of cousin Jims wrecked old chevy truck and just drop it in.