Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > Technical > Drives and Lower Units
Bravo that won't shift, any clues ??? >

Bravo that won't shift, any clues ???

Notices

Bravo that won't shift, any clues ???

Old 01-08-2010, 12:58 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bravo that won't shift, any clues ???

I have a 382 Formula with 500hp's and Bravo's with Livorsi throttle / shift controls. Late last summer, one of the drives would occasionally not shift into forward when the shift lever was moved. It would find reverse just fine. After several shifts at the lever, it would finally go into gear, generally with a clunk. I looked at the shifter, and everything looks good. Any one have any advice ???
I am a pretty good mechanic, but this is my first big block/bravo boat. Most of my previous experience has been with Alpha drives.
Any help would be apppreciated.
Pete
Old 01-08-2010, 02:38 PM
Charter Member #601
Charter Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Pete,
It could be just a cable adjustment. If you remove the cable with the barrel connector, it should line up with the holder, when the drive is in neutral.
Pull the cotter pin and remove the barrel, wiggle the cable, dont try to shift it without the motor turning over.. It should find center (there is a ball and spring in the back cap that will fall into a dent on the linkage). Then try to slide the barrel back into the holder.. if it is off, adjust it. Note how far off it is.. This may be all that is needed.
It also could be wear on the cone clutch, but it sounds like linkage to me.
Another thought is the cable is streatched and adjustment may not bring it back into line. But the adjustment is a start.
Hope that helps.
Dick
Old 01-08-2010, 06:23 PM
Registered

Received 1,491 Likes on 806 Posts

Originally Posted by Mr Gadgets
Pete,
It could be just a cable adjustment. If you remove the cable with the barrel connector, it should line up with the holder, when the drive is in neutral.