Notices

SSM III Oil Leak

Old 09-18-2011, 03:26 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SSM III Oil Leak

I have a Speedmaster 3 sterndrive that is requiring me to add oil to the stern mounted reservoir, about 1/4 - 1/2 qt., each time I go out on the water. It is not leaking the oil while sitting there on the trailer as there is no oil on the ground after sitting for a week. But it does appear that the oil is leaking in the bilge. I have searched on here but no one has discussed SSM III oil leaks. Here is the link that has the parts..

http://www.mercruiserparts.com/Show_...Y%28III+SSM%29

Im hoping someone can tell me which part # it is that is causing the leak. I just ordered a service manual. Thanks in advance for any replies that can aid me in servicing this drive.
Old 09-19-2011, 01:09 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by coolmedown
I have a Speedmaster 3 sterndrive that is requiring me to add oil to the stern mounted reservoir, about 1/4 - 1/2 qt., each time I go out on the water. It is not leaking the oil while sitting there on the trailer as there is no oil on the ground after sitting for a week. But it does appear that the oil is leaking in the bilge. I have searched on here but no one has discussed SSM III oil leaks. Here is the link that has the parts..

http://www.mercruiserparts.com/Show_...Y%28III+SSM%29

Im hoping someone can tell me which part # it is that is causing the leak. I just ordered a service manual. Thanks in advance for any replies that can aid me in servicing this drive.
Well, here are the ways I see it could be leaking to the bilge:

1) if you have a cracked transom plate
2) the hose/fitting coming from the bottom of the transom plate oil tank has gone bad. Once the oil line connects to the gimbal housing, I'd expect any leak to be going to the ground, because that's outside the bellows.
3) The front seal at the input shaft leaking into the bellows