Need drive advice for Glastron CSS-19 project >

Need drive advice for Glastron CSS-19 project

Notices

Need drive advice for Glastron CSS-19 project

Old 10-12-2011, 05:30 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need drive advice for Glastron CSS-19 project

I've been building a CSS-19 project for a couple years now and I want to start thinking about the drive and need advice. The original setup was a 350mag (270hp) and alpha one setup.

I am going to be installing a 383 mpi on it which will exceed the hp ratings for the alpha by appx 50hp.

I've been an outboard guy my whole life and am not familiar with sterndrives.

- I assume it would be a bad idea to stay with the alpha setup?

- Should I switch over to bravo 1?

- what ratio would I need? ( I assume 1:50 is the most common?)

- are any transom modifications necessary to install a bravo transom assy?

- Is there any thing else I should take into consideration?
Old 10-12-2011, 06:07 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by gregpro50
I've been building a CSS-19 project for a couple years now and I want to start thinking about the drive and need advice. The original setup was a 350mag (270hp) and alpha one setup.

I am going to be installing a 383 mpi on it which will exceed the hp ratings for the alpha by appx 50hp.

I've been an outboard guy my whole life and am not familiar with sterndrives.

- I assume it would be a bad idea to stay with the alpha setup?

- Should I switch over to bravo 1?

- what ratio would I need? ( I assume 1:50 is the most common?)

- are any transom modifications necessary to install a bravo transom assy?

- Is there any thing else I should take into consideration?