Turning a bravo 1 backwards? >

Turning a bravo 1 backwards?

Notices

Turning a bravo 1 backwards?

Old 11-07-2013, 09:37 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turning a bravo 1 backwards?

Ok I am new to boats so this might be a dumb question but maybe not. I searched and could not find an answer. Last night I was talking to a prop guy about what to run on my boat. To make a long story short he said since I have offshore controls I could run a left hand prop if I found one cheap and just run the controls backwards. Like reverse is now forward and forward is reverse. Is that even possible or is that bad for the out drive? In theory I can see it but asking first is cheaper.
Old 11-07-2013, 09:58 AM
Registered

Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts

That's exactly what happens on a twin application. One is in F the other in R, so to speak. On a single LH you may get torque steer.
Old 11-07-2013, 10:06 AM
Registered

I though that but a buddy said they do make counter rotating out drives. I have a LH prop I found cheap I want to try so its worth trying now knowing I can. What do you mean by torque steer?
Old 11-07-2013, 10:16 AM
Registered

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by NickFrantz
Ok I am new to boats so this might be a dumb question but maybe not. I searched and could not find an answer. Last night I was talking to a prop guy about what to run on my boat. To make a long story short he said since I have offshore controls I could run a left hand prop if I found one cheap and just run the controls backwards. Like reverse is now forward and forward is reverse. Is that even possible or is that bad for the out drive? In theory I can see it but asking first is cheaper.
You can just switch the shift cable on the shifter. It will then still shift f-n-r normally but the drive will spin opposite of the original set up.

Most single engine fountains run a lefty so I don't know if torque steer would be a problem or not.
Old 11-07-2013, 10:46 AM
Registered