Bravo slipping coupler? >

Bravo slipping coupler?

Notices

Bravo slipping coupler?

Old 08-03-2015, 10:25 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bravo slipping coupler?

I think I may need a coupler but I want to make sure that's the part before I spend the money and time replacing it. I'm smelling a little bit of rubber from the engine bay. I noticed my power steering belt is slipping a little so I was hoping that was the cause even though my limited knowledge told me it was probably the coupler. I was cruising at about 30 mph and my rpm's were reading at 4900, when it should be around 3000. I opened the engine hatch and smelled rubber but not necessarily in the back near the coupler. I then cruised at 1800 rpm's but the needle was revving up to 2100 or so for no reason then back down. Is there anything else that can cause this? I appreciate any and all input. I'm a novice when it comes to working on boats. It's a stock 7.4 liter mercruiser.
Old 08-03-2015, 10:38 PM
Registered

If its that bad the coupler would have thrown rubber out of the area where the shaft goes through. But also you need to cure the ps belt.
Old 08-03-2015, 10:58 PM
Registered

I'm not seeing anything that is definitely rubber in the area below the motor and below the coupler. It's black down there in the very back, but no definite shards of rubber.
Old 08-03-2015, 11:20 PM
Registered

It actually came out like paint on mine after it melted and slung all over the back area if you take your finger and rub it youll see what im talking about
Old 08-03-2015, 11:48 PM
Registered

Received 23 Likes on 10 Posts

Have you checked your prop hub? Hopefully the rubber smell is the belt and you just need the prop re-hubbed , Good luck!!!
Old 08-04-2015, 08:05 AM
VIP Member
VIP Member

Received 592 Likes on 272 Posts

Mine coupler never slipped- it worked or it Didn't.
Old 08-04-2015, 09:56 AM
Registered