Working on 81 nova 27 ft >

Working on 81 nova 27 ft

Notices

Working on 81 nova 27 ft

Old 04-16-2016, 03:12 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Working on 81 nova 27 ft

Probably been coverd to death here but have 81 Nova II 260 I picked up cheap($500) that has no motors or drives I have to Pontiac 400 that produce roughly 400HP apiece . I know poncho was big in the sixties and I can still marine manifolds and water pumps for these..my question is the drives how or what do I use ..the original transom is in all have been check and are solid..I know I will need adapter to go from Pontiac to GM at bell housing..I heard original drives can't take more then 250 HP...can they be built for more..I am a newbie to the go fast boats but want to build her to run..advice welcome...I am fairly mechanically inclined.
Old 04-16-2016, 03:36 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 12 Likes on 6 Posts

Sell the Pontiac engines and build a couple 383 small block Chevy engines.
The pontiacs are cool and all, but the marine parts are all "shelf" items for the SBC.

Post some pics of the boat. Sounds like a cool project.
Old 04-16-2016, 06:40 PM
Registered

OK so that said what do I do about drives past owner kept destroying drives how do I make replacement drives survive...??
Old 04-16-2016, 06:52 PM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

Buy alphas instead of MR's. Handle a little more. Marinizing PBombs would be a PITA...
Old 04-17-2016, 08:52 AM
Registered

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

Originally Posted by vintage chromoly
Sell the Pontiac engines and build a couple 383 small block Chevy engines.
The pontiacs are cool and all, but the marine parts are all "shelf" items for the SBC.

Post some pics of the boat. Sounds like a cool project.