New member - 24' Formula - basic questions

Notices
Formula

New member - 24' Formula - basic questions

Old 08-01-2012, 06:05 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New member - 24' Formula - basic questions

I have been searching around the website for a couple weeks now and thought I would make my first post. I just bought a Formula and glad to be part of what looks like a proud group. This boat needs a lot of interior work and should keep me busy through the winter (and next couple years).
I have been boating for 5 years with an 18' open bow. I do my own maintenance whenever I can, I hate taking it to the shop. I also own a Seadoo 96xp that I put a 951cc motor in. My current tow vehicle is a Jeep Commander with 5.7.

Here are some quick specs on my boat:

1980 Formula Thunderbird 24' with swim deck
Merc 454 / Bravo 1 - Serial # says the motor is a 88-92
Plane boards
21 P SS 3 fin prop
Headlights
Silent choice exhaust
Dual battery setup
Sits on aluminum I beam trailer

Here are two pictures of the boat

Here are a couple of my basic questions. I know some of these have been discussed a lot and there are many different opinions.

1.) Thoughts on E0 gas. My previous boat I always used gas from the station. I would like to use ethanol free in this boat but I can't seem to find any local stations that have it. Filling up on the water isn't too bad, but expensive.

2.) straps on the back of the boat while on the trailer? The previous owner did not, I always have. There is no good location to tie down to the trailer. Do I need them with this big of a boat?

3.) I have found that this engine runs a little hotter than the smaller engines i have used before. The temp gauge stays around 160, but when I touch the manifold it is hot. Not hot enough to burn me but warm. I will get a IR temp reading next time I'm out. Is this normal to have the risers hot? I do have good water flow when on the hose.