311 Advise

Notices
Formula

311 Advise

Old 10-10-2014, 06:22 AM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 311 Advise

I am looking at a couple of 311's and I may go see one this weekend in my area. It is a 87 311. What are some of the things to look for structurally on the boat besides the transom, engine compartment stringers and bulk head. Is there access to see the fuel tank? Cabin framing and stringers? Deck? Any little things that owners know about that most wouldn't look for or know to look for. Any advise is appreciated!
Old 10-11-2014, 07:00 AM
Registered

Really nothing?? No one has some insider info on specific things to look for?
Old 10-11-2014, 08:41 AM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I am just getting started on mine but the transom is a big thing .and as for the gas tank there is a access panel on the cockpit floor but all the seats have to come out and all the screws have to d me out and they calked all around the opening . But good luck hope you get a good one
Old 10-11-2014, 08:58 AM
Registered

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

You can see the back part of the gas tank on a TRS boat, not sure on a bravo boat. Check to see if the silent thunder platform is leaking around the gaskets. Check the tailpipes to see if they are loose. Formula didn't bolt and nut them and they loosen up and leak fumes into the bilge. To repair that you will have to pull the swim platform. Check the transom as well. Check the bolsters on the older ones, they break free from the pedestals and you will have to have those welded. The hydraulic actuators for the bolsters tend to go bad. They can be rebuilt by Crane Aerospace for about $115 bucks each but you have to have an account with them, and that is kind of a pain to setup. I can't stress enough how good a boat the 311 is, find a clean one and you will love it.
Old 10-11-2014, 09:04 AM
Registered