Formula 271 fastech vs Donzi 26ZX

Notices
Formula

Formula 271 fastech vs Donzi 26ZX

Old 06-08-2021, 11:35 AM
Registered

Received 122 Likes on 56 Posts
Default Formula 271 fastech vs Donzi 26ZX

Hey gang! Been a lurker for what feels like a decade. I've been dying to buy my own performance boat since about 2001 when I was in high school. Had my powerboat magazine subscription back then drew my own boats up in CAD.. got the fever after riding in a friend's 26 Baja outlaw.

Well long story short on the history I'm hoping to jump in next summer/fall timeframe so being about a year out I'm trying to narrow it down a bit. Boat would mostly be myself, the wife and two kids under 7 years old. Lake boating 75% of the time and sound/ocean the other 25% with the ocean only on super nice days. Would like to trailer to Florida occasionally as well.

I've considered heavily the Donzi 28ZX but I feel like twin engines are pushing my 9,500 lb towing capacity in the F150 too tight for comfort. No point maxing out the truck.

That brings me down to the Donzi 26zX and the Formula 271 fastech as my front runners. Possibly a 26 outlaw or similar Baja as well. Trying to stay model years 2001 and newer and a budget of mid 40k's

What are your thoughts between them. I'm leaning towards a formula with the right motor. Preferably a 500efi/525 or a 496 HO if I can find it. Should I avoid the 502's?

Would like to be able to hit 65-66 with either boat. I know the Donzi will be a tic faster but the formula would be better built and ride better so the wife and kids would be happy. I see a nice looking 271 with a rebuilt 500efi on powerboatlistings but Im sure it won't be around when I'm ready to pull the trigger next year. Also it's dam hard to find one to get a feel for the layout with the family in it.

Thanks in advance for your input and advice. I'd also like a Pantera 28 but doubt the wife would enjoy it as much, lol.

Last edited by CharlieWhiskey85; 06-08-2021 at 11:38 AM.