Notices

New Fountain Owner. Advice??

Old 04-18-2010, 11:01 AM
Registered
Platinum Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile New Fountain Owner. Advice??

Hi all,

So yesterday I purchased a '91 Fever, 29ft with twin 454's (not sure which one's yet) and 'OL' serial number B1 drives. Its very clean for an older boat, and I paid $23,500 for it (cash).

I wanted twin drives because I'm a family man and didn't want my family stuck on the lake with an engine that won't start or a blown drive. I figured this way I can always get them back to the dock (hopefully!). I can afford the fuel and maintenance with twins, and apart from building drives can easily do all the maintenance myself, I've been a race car mechanic / fabricator / engineer all my life and now in my early 40's can afford some reasonably priced toys to play with.
Everything works except its got a dead hydraulic seat switch. Whatever, I'll fix that.

I've always wanted a Fountain, and bought a 29 because I figured it should ride better with my family in it than a 24 or similar size.

It ran 69 mph with four guys in it yesterday when I bought it on 28 pitch props. I don't need faster than that. It'll probably cruise around at 50 - 55 mph from now on :-)

But I'm a relative rookie to owning a boat. I've spent a lot of time on friends boats, and been around the scene for about 15 years. But this is my first real ownership.

After reading on here for a few weeks now prior to my purchase, I respect the knowledge of many members on this forum. Apart from the obvious "don't beat on it out of the hole" and "easy on the throttle for the sake of the drives", please feel free to beat me up a bit and offer advice so I can be a safe, courteous, and respectful member of the boating community.

Also, if anyone would care to offer advice with specifics to maintenance, or things I should look at prior to use that might save a rookie much aggravation (or dollars!) later, that would also be much appreciated.