Craigslist gold? I think so! >

Craigslist gold? I think so!

Notices

Craigslist gold? I think so!

Old 10-31-2016, 09:45 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Craigslist gold? I think so!

Just wanted to share a story about my first sport boat purchase. I've been boating since 1989 with a few outboard powered boats down through the years. I even tried my hand at sailing but it turned out to be way to much work. I've heard story's on OSO about getting bitten buying used boats and thought I would share the other end of the spectrum with you.I was surfing craigslist almost one year ago to the day and ran across an add for a 1996 Fountain Fever.Always wanted a sport boat with a big block in it.Anyway the ad went something like this.1996 Fountain Fever nice boat,2 hours on rebuilt hp 500 engine,no bs, no trades cash only. 15.000.00 great deal, don't need the money.The ad had pictures of a very nice boat.I thought it was a scam but texted the number anyway. He responded back with I think it's already sold a guys driving up from Florida in the morning but I'll let you know if it falls through.Well i thought that ones gone it's probably a waste of time anyway. The next day he text me back telling me the guy from Florida couldnt't make it and I could come see it.He also put up some video on his facebook page for me to see. After watching the video I knew I had to see this boat.The boat was only 2 hours up the road in Charlotte so I made an appointment to see it the following Saturday. The boat was really nice to be 20 years old. I looked the boat over, listened to it run on the hose, and it sounded good! He told me some history on the boat saying that it was bought in Charlotte later went to a new owner in Houston who I later found out was a female OSO poster that some of you may remember, she went by the name Jana.He bought it after she sold it. I've even found some old picts on here of it that she posted. We went in his shop to get all the paperwork on the b