Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Boating Safety Statistics (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/108058-boating-safety-statistics.html)

saubouin 07-19-2005 03:35 PM

Boating Safety Statistics

With all the horrible things that have happened lateley (SOTW) etc.. it got me a little concerned since I'm new to boating (only my 2nd season). I was starting to wonder just how dangerous is it to go boating. Out of curiousity I pulled annual reports for both the US Coast Guard and the NHTSA to see if I could get a set of numbers I could compare.

Here's what I found.

In 2003 for ever 100,000 registered boat users there were 5.5 fatalities for a total of 703 people who died in a boating accident.

In 2003 for every 100,000 registered car owner there were 18.48 fatalities or 38,252 peopled died from a fatal car accident.

The good news is that fatalities have steadily gone down with both cars & boats for the last several years. In 1991 there was an average of 8.3 fatalities per 100,000! The downward trend in boating fataltites is good to see, especially since overall boat ownership has grown 15% since 1991. In 2003 70% of deaths occured from drowning, with an amazing 86% of those due to victims not wearing their PFD's!!!

Here are some more facts which I directly copied form the Coast Guard Report.

The most reported type of accident was a collision with another vessel. However, capsizing and falls overboard are the most reported types of fatal accidents and
accounted for over half (57%) of all boating fatalities.

Overall, operator inattention, carelessness/reckless peration, operator inexperience, and excessive speed are the leading contributing factors of all reported accidents.