Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Rough water driving (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/110365-rough-water-driving.html)

jeffball 08-17-2005 02:44 PM

Rough water driving

Hey I'm new to OSO and new to powerboating. I'm 24 and just picked up a 1998 Baja Hammer, 454 Bravo 1 with tabs. I know that the Hammer is more of a lake boat, but a real O/S machine is not in my budget YET. My question is what kind of chop and at what speeds can I safely run my boat. (Damage is a concern, beating myself up with a 20deg. deadrise thumping is not :) )

Thanks for any tips....

CigDaze 08-17-2005 03:58 PM

Re: Rough water driving

Welcome to the board, Jeff! :cool:
That was my first boat, too. It's quite a tough little boat, I beat the crap out of it running it in Tampa Bay. It will handle most choppy waters up until about 2 feet or so, after that it can become a handful. Also, because of it's shallow bottom, it does not like quartering seas at all, it always felt like it wanted to "surf" the waves rather than get over it. It's a quick, fun ride. Enjoy it.

East Coast B 08-17-2005 04:21 PM

Welcome aboard!!! Pretty much, usually the boat will tell you when enough is enough..... Things rattling loose, popping out, stress cracks, etc.... it's a matter of how much pounding you mind and how much time and money you want to put back into fixing things.... you'll get a feel for what your and the boats comfort level is... Where do you boat and what length is the hammer? Surprised by the 20 degree deadrise on a sport boat... definitely will increase the pounding factor..... Good Luck!!!!

jeffball 08-17-2005 04:30 PM

Thanks for the reply guys, The boat is a 22' and is used mostly in the San juan Islands (pacific northwest) with a few runs across the border into BC's gulf islands (worth the trip!)