Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Question regarding offshore boats (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/114237-question-regarding-offshore-boats.html)

chrisf 10-12-2005 04:34 PM

Question regarding offshore boats

I am a newbie to this forum but have had boats for years. Currently have a Bayliner 21' V8 that has a top speed of 55mph. I am thinking of going into the offshore category. While the top speed suits me just fine, the quality of ride I am receiving is getting real old. I am thinking that since all I have is a glorified "ski" boat, the deadrise and hull design are not really suited for quick speeds in the Southern California Pacific Ocean. I am currently looking at 2 kinds of boats, a 22' Scarab and 21-25' Baja. Questions: Will looking at these boats with a sharper V help the quality of ride at quick speeds, be more safe for my children at those speeds, and help with the "kidney pounding" I take when I get the boat out of the water, or am I barking up the wrong tree and no matter what I buy, at 50mph it is going to hurt. Another question, opinions on the above 2 boat models would be great, as well as other manufacturers/models suggestions. I am probably going to buy used, so any "reject" models of any year would be great to be aware of. Thank you in advance.

Chris

thedonz 10-12-2005 04:50 PM

Re: Question regarding offshore boats

I WOULDN'T GET RID OF THE BAYLINER ESPECIALLY WITH A V8 THAT'S THE BEST OFFSHORE BOAT AROUND :evilb: LOOK INTO THE 28 PANTERA 28 APACHE 28 CIGARETTE ALL DEPENDS WHAT YA WANT TO SPEND THE SKY IS THE LIMIT BUT KEEP THE BAYLINER THERE'RE GREATTTT :evilb:

JR

Sydwayz 10-12-2005 04:51 PM