Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Stepped Hull Vs Straight Hull (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/125924-stepped-hull-vs-straight-hull.html)

Scott 03-27-2006 03:37 PM

Re: Stepped Hull Vs Straight Hull

Originally Posted by ApacheCarl
I agree.

The question should be:

2 boats of equal weight, one stepped, one straight bottomed, which is better in rought water ?

Great point and I have no apples to apples experience to compare. My model does have a straight hull version but I have never ridden in one so I would be assuming and that's not what any of us want to hear.

But the TG comparison above may be a good one :cool: I'm sure there are plenty of Cig guys on here that have owned both models.

With all that shoved aside lets be realistic they both have pluses and minuses that we could discuss over and over. And I will be the first to say I wish my boat weighed more than it does because I do not crush waves so I have learned and still learning how to run and throttle across them this is where I am fortunate that I can run flat.

I wish I could afford an "old School" 900hp wave crusher I'm sure they have a ride like no other and I would never try to compare my boat to anything like that. It is what it is :drink: and I like it :D

Semper Fi 03-27-2006 03:41 PM

[QUOTE=thedonz]

Originally Posted by Semper Fi
A stepped hul (in most applications) will fly more level in rough water

I really disagree with that very much

jr mike

You have a right to disagree. Like I said, "in most cases" this is true. I have been in a 42' straight bottom Tiger and HavasuCigs' 38' TS Top Gun and the TS gun flew alot more level and required practically no tabs to keep fyling level. The Tiger neede alot of tab to fly level and to stop the porpoising...which was alot.