Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Changing oil in diesels (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/129456-changing-oil-diesels.html)

Jassman 05-07-2006 12:07 PM

Changing oil in diesels

If the manufacturer says change every 50 hours, is it wise or hurting anythng gong to every 25 hours, or less. Or am I just wasting my time and money. I read someplace that not getting the oil hot enough or used enough could further damage the diesel engine. Didnt make any sense but just wanted to hear from you guys thanks Jeff

JnT 05-07-2006 12:15 PM

Re: Changing oil in diesels

The only diesels I've worked with have been continuous duty Cats and Cummins on the oilfield boats.
I'm not an expert but I'd stick with the manufacturers guidelines. Don't see where it would hurt to change every 25 hours but if they recomend 50 hours go with that.
The fuel filters are critical so stay on top of those as well.
My 2 cents....probably not even worth that. :)

super termoli 05-07-2006 01:18 PM

JnT is absolutely right. It is very important to keep filters clean on big diesels. And not only fuel and oil filters but air filters as well. As far as changing oil is concerned, no need to do it more often than 50 hours. As a matter of fact, 50 hours is overkill. On Seateks which are about as fragile as a diesel is going to get, every 100 hours is fine.