Stolen Apache Mold Story!!! >

Stolen Apache Mold Story!!!

Notices

Stolen Apache Mold Story!!!

Old 08-17-2005, 12:21 PM
Registered

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Stolen Apache Mold Story!!!

As some of you may already know, my name is Charlie McCarthy Jr. – my dad is Charlie McCarthy who founded Banana Boat Co. and used to race a boat called “Top Banana” and “Rums of Puerto Rico” in the 70’s.

Long story short, when my dad sold the trucking business in 1995 and retired, he was toying with the idea of getting back in the boat building business but wanted to make larger boats. He went to see his old friend Bobby Saccenti in early 1997 and Bob sold him an old 38’6” Apache mold that had never been put into production. We had the mold at B&C Marine in Hollywood, FL for a couple of months but eventually had to move it to a storage area because of zoning changes etc. It was a difficult time for my dad and me as I had been working in the family trucking business since 1990 and after he sold it, I kind of wanted to do my own thing for a while. Now of course as some of you may know, we have recently “dusted off” some of the old banana molds and are planning to re-launch the company again for the 2006 model year.

Anyway the Apache mold was loaded upright onto a triple axle white/grey Target trailer and placed into a storage yard in Ft. Lauderdale. If anyone is familiar with Lauderdale, then they will remember the storage yard right at the junction of I-95 & I-595 – that’s where it last was in 1997. We have never seen it since.

I have been trying to keep this quiet for a while now – trying to locate it quietly – following every lead (one even led me to a landfill!) But now I figured I’d post a little info. on OSO in the hopes that someone might be able to help… I mean how can a 38’6” mold just disappear?