Notices

European Boaters

Old 08-10-2006, 02:21 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default European Boaters

OK, where are the hot spots? Do people get together like LOTO and Havasu on the water frequently? What countries have the better climates and larger concentration of performance minded boaters? How about industry? Where are performance boats built? Let's hear everything.
Old 08-10-2006, 06:18 PM
Registered

Default Re: European Boaters

It's only about 1 A.M. out there, somebody has got to be awake.
Old 08-11-2006, 09:11 AM
Registered

Received 33 Likes on 13 Posts

I'm no expert but would think that if it's go-fast machines you're talking about, then places like the South of France (Nice, the Cote D'Azur), Marbella and Mallorca in Spain, are a good starting point.
Old 08-11-2006, 09:12 AM
Registered

Received 33 Likes on 13 Posts

And it's 4.17pm here.
Old 08-11-2006, 10:28 AM
Registered

Thanks Nige - that's a good start. Anyone know anything about the Swiss lakes? Italian shores? I'm looking for the full spectrum. What about boating forums/messageboards in Europe?
Old 08-11-2006, 04:04 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

South of France, from Monte Carlo to St. Tropez. You will find the greatest concentration of offshore powerboats in and around St. Tropez though. There are quite a few Cigarettes, a couple of Skaters, a few Apaches and Cougars. You will also see a few big Magnums but the scene is really dominated by express cruisers like Pershings, Baias and most of all Mangustas and Leopards. They'll only do 35 to 50 knots but when you see a 130' at that speed, it's still quite a sight. I believe there are 2 or 3 poker runs there but the scene is not even close to what it is in the U.S.

Other places are in Spain, Ibiza and Mallorca primarily. I've seen few Nortechs and Hustlers there.