Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    imq707s

Cool Best Buffing Compound for Gelcoat?

What's the best buffing compund to use for polishing faded gelcoat? I've got a 1985 Scarab that has some faded gel on the deck. What would you suggest? I've tried some automotive paint compunds, but the gel usually fades back in a few days.

My Boats:
    1988 32' Pachanga

I heard that Waterfoul uses an all natural, protein enriched formula. Only gets about a teaspoon at a time though. Also heard he uses his hairy butt cheeks for the final buffing....

Boat Girl

imq, I'm not a pro or anything, but I discovered something at the boat show called FLITZ...it works awesome, they showed you all the stuff it works on, and it is a restorer...it removes oxidation and stuff...they actually wet sanded a piece of lexan and took a dab of this stuff and viola...anybody else have any experience with this product...I actually went out and got some and am using on my car...the one thing they did say is that it doesnt protect from sun only water, so you would need to use an additional wax for sun protection after restoring the surface...

[ 01-08-2002: Message edited by: Boat Girl ]

NJScarab

3M Ultrafine for light colors It's a polish but it takes out Oxidation like a SOB. Hit it with the high speed and a wool pad and then high speed with a foam waffle pad. She'll be shining.
    Mike

Platinum Member Platinum Member Smitty's Avatar
    My Boats:
    2000 Baja 36 Outlaw

I use Meguire's color restorer #44.Then follow with a good coat of wax.Works pretty well at bringing out the color as well as putting the oils back in the gel coat.

Happy waxing.
    Want your ECU tuned right?? Call Mark at Precision www.pmefi.com

My Boats: