Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   launching your boat in the ocean (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/160154-launching-your-boat-ocean.html)

FOXMXPSYCHO 06-06-2007 04:16 AM

launching your boat in the ocean

Im new to boating period, It hasnt even been 2 weeks since Ive owned a boat. Now my question is... is there any other alternative to launching your boat into the ocean other then dipping your trailer into the salt water? I keep reading about how bad salt water ruins your trailer. My boat came with a extreme trailer and disc brakes, if I were to dip it in salt water whats the life expectancy of it?
Im really interested in driving my boat out to catalina island from long beach, I also hear you could lift your boat with a crane and then put it in the water? if so who in long beach does this?
Any advice from people with more experience boating in the ocean would be helpful. Whats the do's and donts? when is the best time to go to catalina etc,etc...

Thanks
George

zimm17 06-06-2007 05:32 AM

Some marinas will lift off a trailer with their forklift. Check into marinas with dry rack storage- they have the big forklifts. Trailer type will determine if they can slide the fork lift right in, or if they have to prop up the boat and use slings.

Is your trailer steel or aluminum? If aluminum, I'd dunk it and rinse it really good when you get home. I only boat in salt water and that's what I do.

SANLEONKID 06-06-2007 08:13 AM