36 Skater Fliped Great South Bay?? >

36 Skater Fliped Great South Bay??

Notices

36 Skater Fliped Great South Bay??

Old 08-19-2007, 01:30 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by CAPTCHUCKV
I am a Professional Mariner and I do not understand why these HP boats are running around at high speeds in the dark. I would never run anything on the water at night without the use of a radar. Case in point: About 6 months ago I heard a vessel put in a mayday call to the Coast Guard unit in Houston. It was about 4:00 in the morning and very dark out. The call came in from a boat that had clipped a bouy in Galveston Bay and it was taking on water fast. It took only 20 mins for the boat to sink. The 2 men onboard were found 2 hours later about 3 miles from where the boat went down..... Had they been using a radar this accident would have never occured.....same instance with the Skater. My point is if you can afford something like a Skater then why not spend a little more on a small radar or some brighter running lights? All you need to do is add alchohol with darkness and you have a recipe for disaster. I am not saying all HP boats run at night drunk but there are people out there that do. For this reason I stay on the dock when darkness falls.....

Chuck
chuck hi its art hey the skater was running during the day I think and the other 2 were running at night, but I do agree with you about radar you need it at night
Old 08-19-2007, 01:32 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by BJM
Jeff
Just make sure my bag is full first!
Old 08-19-2007, 01:37 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts